Tag Someone on Facebook & More [In-Depth Guide – 2019]

Tag Someone on Facebook & More [In-Depth Guide – 2019]

It is possible for you to tag someone on Facebook if you have a properly functioning account running. In this way, you can immortalize your memories with others through one of the most popular social media platforms of today.

For instance, you can tag someone on Facebook to show who appears with you in a picture, or shared status to show your friends who you’re doing something with at that particular moment.

If you tag someone on Facebook, inherently on your brand new status, anyone who stumbles upon the update can go to their Timeline by tapping your friend’s anchored name. 

Your status update can also appear in your friend’s Timeline.

The reason why the tagging feature does not appear is that the other party has turned off tagging and has not allowed your shipment to appear in the time tunnel.

How to Tag Friends on Facebook Status?

To tag friends on your shared status on Facebook (Android or iOS):

You can tag someone on Facebook in photos or other posts on Facebook. 

With Facebook’s tagging feature, you can show who was attended in one of your events or appeared in your gallery.

  1. Run the Android app on Facebook.
  2. Log in to your Facebook account.
  3. Tap the “Status” button located at the bottom-center of the Facebook app window.
  4. In the “Send a Post” window that opens, type the status you want to share and click the tag icon at the bottom.
  5. From the list of friends in the window that opens, select the person or contacts you’d like to tag in your status. Then tap “Done” at the top right.
  6. You can share the status you’ve tagged with your friends or the tagged person’s friends by tapping on the button labeled as “Share” at the top right of the page.

Tag Someone on Facebook

You can also like this post: How to Appear Offline on Facebook (for PC & Android, iOS)

How to Tag Friends on Facebook Comments?

To tag someone on Facebook on your comments:

On Facebook, friend tagging is not only available for shared stuff. You can also directly tag your peers in your comments. 

  1. Type the name of the person, and make their name’s first letter uppercase.
  2. Select a name from the list that should’ve been appeared.

How to Tag a Page or Group in Facebook Posts?

To tag a Page or Group in a post or comment:

  1. Type “@” followed by the name of the Page or Group.
  2. Choose a Page or Group from the list that appears.

Note: You may not be able to mention the Page, depending on the settings of the Page.

When you tag someone on Facebook as a user, Page, or Group in a post or comment, a hyperlink is automatically created, redirecting any clicks to the referred target. 

The target audience of the created hyperlink will vary depending on the privacy settings of the person, Page, or Group you’re mentioning at the moment.

For example, if you mention a hidden group, only members of that group can see the hyperlink. The person, Page, or Group you are referring to can receive a notification. 

In addition, the post or comment may appear in the Timeline of the person, Page, or Group. 

Who Can See When I Tag Someone in a Post or Photo?

When you tag someone, this content (e.g., photo, post) can be shared with the person you tagged and their friends. 

Therefore, even if this person’s friends are not already in the receiving audience, they will be able to see this content. 

For instance, if you tag an imaginary friend, Christy, in a photo that you share with your friends, the audience will expand to include you and Christy’s friends, appearing on the instance as labeled as “Friends (+).”

You can also like this post: 11 Interesting Tips and Tricks for Facebook You Don't Know

If you don’t want your photos, posts, or other content to be visible to friends of the person you tagged, you can turn this setting off for each case when sharing. 

  1. To do so, tap the audience picker next to the posting button.
  2. From there select Custom, and uncheck the “Friends of the Tagged.” mark.

Note: When others tag your photo or post, the audience will expand to contain the label “Friends (+).”

How Can I Make Sure That the Tags People Embed to My Posts Are Up for Approval First?

Tag approval is an option that allows you to approve or reject tags that people have added to your posts. 

When you turn on this feature, any tags which were embedded in your shares simply won’t appear on your profile until you let them.

To turn on this feature for future actions:

  1. Tap the icon in the upper right corner on your Facebook Account or Page and select Settings to proceed.
  2. In the left column, tap on Timeline and Tagging.
  3. Have people added to your posts for approval before they appear on Facebook? Find and click Edit on the far right
  4. Select On from the drop-down menu
  5. Find the option labeled as “When the approval process is on, you will receive a notification when there is a tag to review. You can approve or reject the tag request by going to the post.” and tap the Edit button that is sitting still at the far right of this option.

Note: Once you approve a tag, the tagged person and your friends will be able to see your post. You can learn more with our 10 Interesting Facebook Tips.

You can change this setting if you don’t want your shared update to be visible to friends of the tagged person.

You can also like this post: Facebook Messenger Translate Options Now on Live

Tag Someone on Facebook

How Do I Remove a Tag from a Photo or Post I’m Tagged In?

To remove tags directly from a photo or post:

  1. Tap the down-pointed arrow in the top right corner of a post and select the option “Remove Tag.

To remove tags from multiple posts at once:

  1. First of all, you should go to your Activity Log.
  2. In the left column, tap on “Photos.”
  3. Check the boxes to the left of posts that you want to remove the embedded tags of yours.
  4. Tap on “Report/Remove Tags” at the top of the page.
  5. Now, directly tap on “Remove Tags in Photos” to confirm your decision.

Removed tags no longer appear in the post or photo, but the post or photo will still be visible to the target audience. 

People can see the post or photo in sections like News Feed or search results. 

To remove the post entirely from Facebook, ask the person sharing the post to remove it or directly report the content to the officials.

We think that you may also be interested in which is our previous post about Instagram.
No comments to show.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *